I Hate Change

April 28, 2010 at 10:57 pm Leave a comment

Not the pocket type of change. I love that type of change. I’m talking about the Change that meddles in things you’re comfortable with, forcing you to do some mending and evaluating.

And I know it seems melodramatic to have “hate” right smack in the middle of a title post. But Change is one of those things you either love or hate. Sometimes I welcome change, but lately, I’ve been hiding from it because I don’t want to start adapting everything Change has changed. But I know slowly I will have to let go, either forcefully or willingly. I haven’t been forced to… yet. So I’m still grasping on until Change pries my fingers away after May 22. Graduation.

Graduation is a funny time. I’m so ready to be done with semester projects, finals, and papers. It’s exciting to move on to bigger things than a classroom (even if an office is, admittedly, smaller). And I’m even looking forward to moving back home (free meals!). But it’s scary to recognize things are going to change. Friends are moving away, getting jobs in other states, and even getting married. My life as I know it will begin shifting beneath me until it has morphed into something only faintly familiar.

But amidst all of the change, it’s comforting to know God is the center of all things and the firm foundation. He is in control if I let Him. I haven’t quite figured out the best way to completely give it up to Him yet, but I’m learning. And even though the unknown is easy to fear, we persevere and keep going because the Lord is with us. Just as Haggai 2:4-5 says,

‘Be strong, all you people of the land,’ declares the LORD, ‘and work. For I am with you,’ declares the LORD Almighty. ‘This is what I covenanted with you when you came out of Egypt. And my Spirit remains among you. Do not fear.’

P.S. I said “change” 11 times in this post. Considering it was all about change, I thought it was going to be more. Well, make that 13 now 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The BIGGEST Giveaway Ever? Get your name into the Grand Prize! That’s an order.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join the WLMagazine conversation on Twitter!

Follow WLMagazine on Twitter!

Become a fan of NWLC on Facebook!

NWLC10

3 locations; 3 experiences- Register Today!


